Last week’s new genre

22 Aug

I have to admit I have made a point of avoiding Justin Beiber.

Not at parties or in the pub or anything (I’m sure he couldn’t even place my country of residence on a map let alone hunt down a pub here), but as a phenomenon. I had seen his vaguely emo-combed hair and his probably prepubescent mush gurning from a flyposter that barked of him being a NEW TEEN SENSATION or something similar, and I was also vaguely aware of an internet campaign to send the lad on a tour of North Korea, as well as having encountered his seemingly obsessive hopefully female barmy army on Twitter.

But I had, until now, managed to avoid his music.

But when I heard it, I rather liked it.

Probably because the version I heard was a more eclectic reworking than when Andy Weatherall turned I’m Losing More Than I’ll Ever Have into Loaded. A fellow under the nom-de-plume of Shamanti had the bizarre idea of putting the TEEN SENSATION’s latest piece of throwaway pop pap through some timestretching gizmo, slowing it down by 800%  and transforming it into as into a 35-minute aural extravaganza that had stultified listeners like myself, dj’s, music journos and many more muttering words like “ambient”, “bliss”,”Eno”, “balearic”,”Cocteaus”, “sonic cathedrals” and the like. Even no less a luminary than Mr. Rob daBank himself described the track as “lush”.

This was last week.

Now a new site called Slow It Up has been created to deal with similar creations, and already both Frank Sinatra and Miley “can’t be tamed” Cyrus have been put on the digital equivalent of the medieval rack to similar effect.

But hats off to Shamantis, who had the idea in the first place. Which begs the question… if you play Music For Airports or Higher Than the Sun 800x faster, would you have a US-radio-friendly pop hit on your hands? And is someone going to try the Slow it Up trick with Original Nuttah?

J. BIEBZ – U SMILE 800% SLOWER by Shamantis

SlowItUp website

Leave a Reply

